Episcopal Diocese of Upper South Carolina

Diocesan Executive Council

The Diocesan Executive Council (DEC) consists of eighteen members: nine clerics and nine laypeople, all of whom are elected by Diocesan Convention. Functioning as a "Diocesan Vestry," Council's responsibilities include service as the Diocesan Standing Committee, the Council of Advice to the Bishop, and as the Long-Range Planning Committee.

The work of the Council in terms of its "Diocesan Vestry" function is most clearly expressed in and through the actions of the DEC Commissions.  There are seven (7) Commissions, by which the DEC expresses its strategic leadership ministry. They are:

  1. Commission on Ministry    
  2. Commission on Congregations    
  3. Commission on Convocations    
  4. Commission on the Diocese    
  5. Commission on The Episcopal Church and the Anglican Communion     
  6. Commission on Mission and International Concerns    
  7. Commission on Christian Formation

View or download the diocesan structure chart.

Each commission is responsible for implementing effective ministry in these areas, based upon the Bishop and Council's priorities.


Members of the Diocesan Executive Council


The Rev. Scott Anderson
Church of the Redeemer, Greenville

Mr. John Coleman
Church of the Advent, Spartanburg

The Rev. Charles Smith
St. Michael & All Angels, Columbia

Mr. Ed Greenleaf
St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, Columbia

The Rev. Deacon Dianna Deaderick
St. Luke's, Columbia

Mr. Benton Williamson
St. John's, Columbia


Clergy Vacancy

The Rev. Canon Dorian Del Priore
Trinity Cathedral, Columbia

The Rev. Patricia Sexton
All Saints, Cayce

Mr. Larry Moore
Church of the Advent, Spartanburg

Ms. Susan Palmer
St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, Columbia

Dr. Marie Martin
St. Luke's, Columbia


The Rev. Debbie Apoldo
Church of the Advent, Spartanburg

The Rev. Jack Hardaway
Grace Church, Anderson

The Rev. Nicholas Beasley
Church of the Resurrection, Greenwood

Mr. Craig Williams
Church of the Advent, Spartanburg

Dr. Norah Grimball
Trinity Cathedral, Columbia

Mr. Michael Darnell
Church of the Incarnation, Gaffney


Dr. Bill Sandberg
St. Simon & St. Jude, Irmo

The Rt. Rev. W. Andrew Waldo

Mr. Kirby Shealy
Trinity Cathedral

Mr. J. P. Lee
Vice Chancellor
Trinity Cathedral

 Convocation Deans

The Rev. Gordon Hamilton

Christ Church, Lancaster

The Rev. Dan Wagner
St. Augustine of Canterbury, Aiken

The Rev. Slaven Manning
St. Francis of Assisi

The Rev. Jim Trimble
St. Christopher's, Spartanburg

The Rev. Mike Flanagan
Holy Cross, Simpsonville

Convocation Lay Wardens

Mr. David Dudley
St. Paul's, Fort Mill

Ms. Mary Anne Park
St. Bartholomew's, North Augusta

Mr. Bruce Carter
St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, Columbia

Mr. Michael Darnell
Church of the Incarnation, Gaffney






  • Bishop Waldo Calls to Order
  • Bishop Greg Rickel on Stewardship
  • Leadership Day
  • Dean Timothy Jones of Trinity Cathedral
  • The Rev. Dr. James Farwell
  • Ms. Terri Mathes
  • Closing Plenary Before Evensong
  • Bill Hunter of the Advent Shoppe
  • Christ Church Before Evensong
  • Gravatt Booth
  • Thompson Booth
  • Canterbury Booth
  • Sewanee Booth
  • Business Day
  • Cursillo 130 1
  • Cursillo 130 2
  • Cursillo 130 3
  • Cursillo 130 4
  • Cursillo 130 5
  • Cursillo 130 6
  • Cursillo 130 7
  • Cursillo 130 8
  • Cursillo 130 9
  • Cursillo 130 10
  • Cursillo 130 11